On behalf of the co-chairs of the 27th Annual Congressional Art Competition, Representatives Dan Boren (D-OK) and Jeff Miller (R-FL), and General Motors, we are proud to announce the winners of the 2008 Congressional Art Competition. The Congressional Art Competition began in 1982 to provide an opportunity for members of Congress to encourage and recognize the artistic talents of their young constituents.

Since then, over 650,000 high school students have been involved with the nationwide competition. The competition is open to high school students in each Member’s Congressional District. One piece is chosen from each congressional district and displayed in a walkway between the House office buildings and the U.S. Capitol. On June 25, 2008, a ribbon cutting ceremony was held celebrating the winning entries. Acclaimed artists Robert Butler and Rosalind Cook appeared at the ceremony.

Click on a state or territory below to view the winning entries from each district. 

Alabama Kentucky Ohio
Alaska Louisiana Oklahoma
Arizona Maine Oregon
Arkansas Maryland Pennsylvania
California Massachusetts Puerto Rico
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Guam Nevada Vermont
Hawaii New Hampshire Virginia
Idaho New Jersey Virgin Islands
Illinois New Mexico Washington
Indiana New York West Virginia
Iowa North Carolina Wisconsin
Kansas North Dakota Wyoming