Speaker of the House
The position of Speaker is established in the U.S. Constitution and is the most senior officer of the House of Representatives (and the third most senior official in the entire federal government). Institutionally, the Speaker holds broad-ranging powers and presides over debate in the House, makes rulings on points of order, has priority right of recognition on the Floor, and sets the agenda by deciding what legislation comes before the House. In addition, the Speaker appoints task forces and commissions, and oversees the management of support functions to the House. Finally, by modern practice, the Speaker serves as the primary spokesperson for her congressional party.

Website for the Speaker of the House
Website for the Speaker of the House: Hon. Nancy Pelosi

House Majority Leader
The Majority Leader, the second most senior official in the House, is by recent practice the day-to-day manager of business on the House Floor. In concert with other elected leaders, the Majority Leader has also assumed responsibilities for building and managing Democratic Caucus consensus on legislation. As leader of the majority party in the House, the Majority Leader works with the Democratic Caucus to set the party agenda, message, and strategy.

Website for the House Majority Leader
Website of the House Majority Leader: Hon. Steny Hoyer

House Majority Whip
The responsibilities of the Majority Whip are counting votes and persuading Members to support the Democratic Caucus position on votes.

Website for the House Majority Whip
Website of the House Majority Whip: Hon. Jim Clyburn

House Democratic Caucus Chair and Vice-Chair
The House Democratic Caucus serves all Democratic Members of the House and their staff. The Caucus is the primary vehicle for communicating the party’s message to Members. The House Democratic Caucus has a Chairman who directs day-to-day operations of the Caucus and is assisted by a Vice Chairman both of which are elected positions.

Website for the House Democratic Caucus
Website for the Democratic Caucus Chair: Hon. Hakeem Jeffries

Website for the Democratic Caucus Vice-Chair: Hon. Pete Aguilar

Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman
The Chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC) appointed by Leader Nancy Pelosi, oversees the political committee of House Democrats which is not funded by tax dollars nor located in the Congressional complex.

Website for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee
Website for the Chair of the DCCC: Hon. Sean Patrick Maloney

Want to learn more about Congress? Sign up for our e-newsletter.